Skip to content


8+1 Science Advisory Group:

  • William Schmidt, 8+1 Science Leader
    University Distinguished Professor, College of Education, Michigan State University
  • George Leroi, Department Of Chemistry and College Of Natural Science, Dean (emeritus), Michigan State University
  • Simon Billinge, Department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics, Columbia University, Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Audrey Champagne, Department of Chemistry and School of Education (emeritus), University at Albany, State University of New York
  • Richard Hake, Department of Physics (emeritus), Indiana University
  • Paula Heron, Department of Physics, University of Washington
  • Leon Lederman, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Pritzker Professor of Physics, Illinois Institute of Technology (retired), and Nobel Prize recipient
  • Lillian McDermott, Department of Physics, University of Washington
  • Fred Myers, Director of Science, Glastonbury Connecticut Public Schools
  • Roland Otto, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (retired)
  • Jay Pasachoff, Department of Astronomy, Williams College
  • Carl Pennypacker, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • George Viebranz, Ohio Mathematics and Science Coalition
  • Paul Williams, Department of Plant Pathology (emeritus), University of Wisconsin